I was injured in a car accident, but I’m uninsured. Can I still file a claim?
Louisiana is a fault state and state law requires a minimum of $10,000/$20,000 bodily injury liability insurance to be carried by all drivers. This means that your insurance covers up to $10,000 per single person and $20,000 per accident. Once this minimum amount is exhausted (if your injury expenses go above and beyond the coverage limits) the remaining damages may be taken out of the driver’s personal assets in a lawsuit.
What happens if I don’t have the minimum (or any) coverage?
Louisiana has a no coverage/no payment policy wherein you are typically unable to recover damages from your Louisiana car accident if you are uninsured or underinsured. However, there is a possibility for you to receive compensation if your personal injury from your Louisiana car accident results in medical expenses that exceed $10,000.
Contact a New Orleans Personal Injury Attorney
The greatest tool in your fight for a fair settlement that covers your needs from your Louisiana car accident injuries is to have your case examined by a New Orleans personal injury attorney. Your attorney can talk to you about your options and suggest the best course of action for recovering damages related to your Louisiana car accident.
A New Orleans personal injury attorney at the Law Offices of J. Price McNamara can help you recover damages for medical bills, ongoing medical treatment, property damage, and other accident-related expenses. For more information on personal injury lawsuits, visit our website or contact us to schedule your FREE legal consultation today – (866) 248-0580.