Why Louisiana Helmet Laws are Important
Louisiana helmet laws exist to protect you from bicycle or motorcycle accidents. Though millions of people safely use these vehicles each day, accidents can still happen. Because the rider or operator of either a bicycle or a motorcycle is without the protection of an enclosed vehicle, the results can be severe and even deadly if one does not take proper precautions.
Louisiana Helmet Laws & Motorcycle Helmet Use On Public Roadways
Motorcycle riders in Louisiana must wear approved helmets and eye protection if the helmet doesn’t have a windscreen when riding on public roadways. Approved helmets typically come in two forms, full face and three-quarters face. According to the Department of Transportation (DOT), a safe helmet should include:
- An inner liner that consists of a one-inch thickness of polystyrene foam
- The appropriate weight that complies with Federal Safety Standards, usually about 3 pounds
- Chinstraps with solid rivets
- A DOT sticker
For additional quality, look for a label from the Snell Memorial Foundation. The helmet should fit snugly and have no visible defects.
If your helmet doesn’t have a windshield, Louisiana helmet laws state that you still need to wear proper eye protection. Whatever type of eye protection you choose, the protection shouldn’t be scratched and must be shatter-and penetration-resistant. In addition, your eye protection should allow air circulation to minimize fogging and enable you to see clearly on both sides.
Louisiana Helmet Laws & Motorcycle Helmet Use Off-Road
A different set of laws applies to motorcycles used off-road. Louisiana helmet laws in this instance dictate that a person who is younger than 18 years must wear a safety helmet when riding a motorcycle off-road. However, this person is not required to wear eye protection.
Louisiana Helmet Laws & Low-Power Cycles
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety has a designation for vehicles that fall between motorcycles and bicycles. Although these criteria may vary according to state, low-powered cycle (LPC) vehicles:
- Usually can’t travel faster than 30 mph
- Usually do not have an engine displacement greater than 50 cubic centimeters
- Usually do not have a horsepower brake of more than two
Examples of LPC vehicles include scooters and mopeds. In Louisiana, all riders must use helmets when riding these types of vehicles.
Louisiana Helmet Laws & Bicycles
Bicycles are a popular form of cheap transportation, in addition to providing recreation and physical activity for many Louisiana residents. Louisiana helmet laws require children 11 years and younger to wear helmets while riding a bicycle. These helmets are required to be securely fastened even if the child is a passenger.
Contacting a Louisiana Personal Injury Lawyer
After a serious motorcycle or bicycle accident, while you are dealing with injuries, medical bills, and insurance companies, it’s important to have someone working on your side.
Speaking with an experienced Louisiana personal injury lawyer after a bike accident can help you understand your legal rights and options, and if necessary, help you file a personal injury lawsuit to help you recover compensation for your losses.
The Louisiana personal injury lawyers at the Law Offices of J. Price McNamara can help you recover damages for medical bills, ongoing medical treatment, property damage, and other accident-related expenses. Contact us to schedule your FREE legal consultation today – (866) 248-0580.