Will health insurance or sick leave limit my Louisiana motorcycle accident compensation?
Neither your health insurance coverage nor your paid sick leave from work will limit the possible compensation you may be entitled to for your Louisiana motorcycle accident. However, you may have to repay your own health insurance carrier for the cost of your medical expenses.
Your motorcycle accident compensation will ultimately be determined by the damages you’ve suffered, minus your percentage of comparative negligence.
How does comparative negligence work?
Comparative negligence in motor vehicle accidents is determined when two (or more) parties are determined to be at fault for an accident. For instance, if your Louisiana motorcycle accident was due to another driver’s illegal left turn, but the headlamp on your motorcycle was broken, you may be found 10% negligent because your motorcycle’s broken headlamp may have prevented the other vehicle from seeing you. This percentage will then be deducted from your overall compensation.
If a court has awarded you $10,000 for damages in your Louisiana motorcycle accident, and you are determined to have been 10% percent negligent, 10% will be deducted from your total compensation, and you would then receive $9,000.
To get a better understanding of your personal injury case, or estimate the value of your potential claim, you should seek the legal advice of a Louisiana personal injury attorney.
The New Orleans personal injury lawyers at The Law Offices of J. Price McNamara can look at the evidence from your motorcycle accident, determine liability and help you file your Louisiana personal injury claim. Contact us today to set up a free consultation of your case – (866) 248-0580.